Specialist Arms Forum

Warmaster => [WM] Warmaster Fantasy Rules Questions => Topic started by: Dave on March 30, 2012, 09:51:51 PM

Title: Magic Items on the Grey Seer and Slaan
Post by: Dave on March 30, 2012, 09:51:51 PM
Can a Grey Seer take Wizard only magic items?

How do General only magic items work on the Slaan?
Title: Re: Magic Items on the Grey Seer and Slaan
Post by: Spectrar Ghost on March 31, 2012, 02:23:00 AM
I'd need to look at the Slaan to answer the second.

I guess I've always assumed the GS could take wizard only items, it just seems better to use command-related items on him and throw the wizard stuff on Warlocks. It's not like the rolls are different. Looking again at the rules it states he can use magic like a Warlock, but not that he counts as a wizard. RAW I'd say no. RAI, probably, but why would you want to? Let me look at the relevent passages from the rulebook and see what I can find.

Edit: After re-reading the relevent sections of the rulebook, I stand by my conclusions. Pesonally I'd allow GS to take Wizard only, but I don't  understand why you would. Spellcasting means being way in front if the line at times, and the GS is best in the middle (and slightly in front). With only one magic item per character, I'd take a Crown of Command or Orb of Compelling anyday over burdening him with a Dispel Scroll Scroll or Staff of Sorcery.
Title: Re: Magic Items on the Grey Seer and Slaan
Post by: Spectrar Ghost on March 31, 2012, 03:07:34 AM
Slann: After looking at the rules and General only items, it appears most of them are useless in a Lizardman Army.

The Sceptre of Sovereignty should work as normal. The Orb of Majesty is a bit fuzzy in the interaction, but I would allow it to override a failed order by a subordinate (The Slann telepathically enforces his will on the hapless subordinate), and continue using his Divine Guidance. These are the only General only items that would appear to work.
Title: Re: Magic Items on the Grey Seer and Slaan
Post by: Lex on March 31, 2012, 07:58:40 AM
correct on all counts.

It states the Seer can use Warlock (read wizard) items because he is the general, so it allows him general and wizard items (but those points are better spend elsewhere)

The Slann can use the Orb, in much the same fashion you describe ! but the construcition of DG disalloing the Lizardmen a fighting/leading general is intentional forgame balance
Title: Re: Magic Items on the Grey Seer and Slaan
Post by: Dave on April 02, 2012, 08:05:37 PM
For the Grey Seer it says: "can use Skaven magic". I take it the word "items" needs to be errata-ed there?

I take it the Vampire Lord falls into this as well?
Title: Re: Magic Items on the Grey Seer and Slaan
Post by: Lex on April 02, 2012, 09:42:01 PM
The Grey Seer is a general/magic user. Which implies he can use General and Magic User items and cast Skaven spells.....   yeah.. an errata might be in order.