Specialist Arms Forum

Battlefleet Gothic => [BFG] Discussion => Topic started by: afterimagedan on May 20, 2013, 04:39:17 AM

Title: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: afterimagedan on May 20, 2013, 04:39:17 AM
Tyranid boarding:
-Tyranid bases count as blast markers when in base to base contact.
-Roll 2D6 and take the highest in boarding.
-Tyranids double their boarding value.
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: AndrewChristlieb on May 20, 2013, 05:06:22 AM
The bases would only count as a blast marker if in base contact correct. So not for shooting at or past said ship?
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: afterimagedan on May 20, 2013, 03:58:42 PM
I suppose they would count as blast markers if you shot through them while they are in base to base with other ships of yours. That would make it the same as the original rules pretty much.
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: AndrewChristlieb on May 20, 2013, 05:28:55 PM
Idk that feels wrong, why would it be any different when not in base contact then.
Title: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: Armiger84 on May 20, 2013, 07:01:35 PM
Because at that moment, the many spores and organisms usually orbiting the tyranid "ship" are now flinging themselves against the more traditional vessel it's attacking, overloading shields, blinding surveyors, melting hatch and porthole seals, and otherwise doing their best to be icky?

I think it's a matter of distinguishing between "counts as" and "actually is."
Title: Re: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: afterimagedan on May 20, 2013, 07:23:48 PM
Idk that feels wrong, why would it be any different when not in base contact then.

Exactly why is used to: spore impacts.
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: Bessemer on May 20, 2013, 09:13:02 PM
I think it's a matter of distinguishing between "counts as" and "actually is."

How 'bout-

Any model in base contact with a Tyranid vessel counts as being in contact for all purposes, but no marker is placed. In effect, The Tyranid ships base IS the blast marker.

Does this clarify it clearly enough? Please correct if not!

I take it the intention is for this rule to come into play once vessels have ended their movement in base contact, not moving through one an other?

I suppose they would count as blast markers if you shot through them while they are in base to base with other ships of yours. That would make it the same as the original rules pretty much.

Sounds good
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: Khar on May 20, 2013, 09:22:11 PM
so basically, 'while in base contact with enemy ship, Tyranid ships' bases count as blast markers in all respects'?
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: afterimagedan on May 20, 2013, 09:24:56 PM
Yes. It would be instead of placing one.
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: AndrewChristlieb on May 20, 2013, 09:30:23 PM
I still dont think it should affect shooting tho, its a itch at the back of my skull right now because this forces an automatic right shift against them as worded.
Title: Re: BFG:R Vote 66: Tyranid Boarding
Post by: afterimagedan on May 20, 2013, 10:27:57 PM
Why downgrade what they used to have?