Specialist Arms Forum

Warmaster => [WM] Warmaster Fantasy Discussion => Topic started by: Stuart Bleything on April 11, 2014, 07:38:47 PM

Title: rallying
Post by: Stuart Bleything on April 11, 2014, 07:38:47 PM
Hi there ,
I apologies more questions that came up whilst gaming .
If a unit is victorious in combat wiping out the unit , can it then rally in any direction including moving over enamy charecters . If so and the charecters have none of there own units are within distance are they captured .

Stuart
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: Big Red on April 11, 2014, 08:27:39 PM
If you have defeated the enemy either in the first round or subsequent rounds, you are allowed to "Fall Back".  This is the correct term in the game for rallying.  You roll 3d6 and are allowed to move anywhere from the lowest single dice roll up to the combined total of the 3 in any direction you wish.  There are other conditions that apply to Falling Back but they are described in the rulebook.

So, taking the above into account, if your 'Fall Back' move allows you to contact an enemy character and there are no enemy units within 30cm of that character, he is dead - remove as if a casualty.  If the character is a General, the battle is over.

Hope that helps.
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: forbes on April 11, 2014, 11:11:39 PM
An important point about 'fall back' is that it doesn't have to be backwards, despite the name.
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: marell le fou on April 12, 2014, 12:35:12 AM
In fact, you can consider this distance of 3D6 as a "standard move". Normal rules apply.
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: Stuart Bleything on April 13, 2014, 03:42:52 PM
Many thanks for the clarity .

Stuart
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: Stormwind on April 13, 2014, 04:44:06 PM
Wait, fall back lets you go in any direction at all? Not away from the defeated enemy?
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: wmchaos2000 on April 13, 2014, 05:26:42 PM
Yes, when Falling Back from winning a round of combat. =(Fall Forward)
If Falling Back from a draw, you can never cross the extended line of battle.
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: David Wasilewski on April 14, 2014, 08:26:04 AM
We play a house rule though that when any unit falls back, it can never advance beyond the extended front line of battle. The reason we use this rule is that we occasionally got this scenario:

It's your opponents turn and he charges you. You roll a high number for your fall back roll. You use it to move BEHIND an enemy unit. Then it is your go and you flank/rear charge him.

Silly

Dave 
Title: Re: rallying
Post by: Lex on April 14, 2014, 09:01:02 AM
Fallback (after combat)

1) on drawn combat - not allowed to cross the "line of battle", iow. slide away to the side or backwards. Remember this is a normal move with a minimum and maximum distance PER STAND! Roll dice to see who goes first, winning dice allow you to force opponent to go first (or last)

2) on winning a combat and forgoing the option to ADVANCE or after having ADVANCEd once already - this should be renamed to EXPLOIT, as this normal move allows you to move your unit beyond the "line of battle".

VERY IMPORTANT !! 

REFORM AFTER COMBAT - this only takes place AT THE END OF A COMBAT TURN
Roll dice to see who goes first, winning dice allow you to force opponent to go first (or last)
EVERY unit that participated in combat is allowed to reform at the end of the phase.
ALSO!  check the procedure!  Nominate one stand and PIVOT it to the preferred position, then arrange additional stands into a legal formation  <--  legal formation = contact between individual stands of the unit on at least one point. There is no obligation to reform in line or column!