Specialist Arms Forum

Warmaster => [WM] Warmaster Fantasy Rules Questions => Topic started by: flankyou on August 24, 2017, 10:41:35 AM

Title: Home back movement
Post by: flankyou on August 24, 2017, 10:41:35 AM
If flyers uses home back and rolls less than distance to a character, does the unit still move directly toward the character or does it just need to end closer than when it started to the designated character?
Title: Re: Home back movement
Post by: Ole on August 24, 2017, 04:03:31 PM
it still goes in a straight line. And the important part is "No stand may change orientation along their way."
Title: Re: Home back movement
Post by: Grimnir on September 08, 2017, 12:31:31 PM
First stand has to move directly to a character (which you choose after rolling). If the distance rolled is less than the distance from the character, you have to move it the full distance rolled. Then you can place the remaining stands to formation with 2 limitations:
1. No stand can change orientation (not even the first one)
2. No stand can be closer to the character to which you home back than the first one (though, if you are changing formation, for some reason, the second and third stands might travel further than the distance rolled.)
Title: Re: Home back movement
Post by: flankyou on September 08, 2017, 09:37:09 PM
Thank you for the responses!

Also, what if the final position is blocked by friendly or enemy stands?

If the path must be directly towards, then I'm assuming you'd choose a flyer stand, then draw a line from the center of that stand to the center of the character, and that would be the path?

Then if you must move full distance, which may result in B2B with character, that means there's no leeway in where the final position is, so if that final position is even partially blocked can the flyers be placed at the next closest point or something, or is the move not permitted?
Title: Re: Home back movement
Post by: Grimnir on September 08, 2017, 10:54:08 PM
The closest position on the line. You cannot move it sideways, nor can it move more than the distance rolled.