May 30, 2025, 02:15:48 PM

Author Topic: Enemy destroyed but winning combat?  (Read 1929 times)

Offline Jo

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
Enemy destroyed but winning combat?
« on: June 19, 2012, 10:08:08 AM »
Hello,

during our last game we encountered an awkward situation if you would take the rules literally.

Suppose I have a unit of only a single stand of Empire Flagellants that is being charged by 2 units of Chaos Knights. As if this was not overkill enough a wizard manages to take off an additional 2 wounds through some kind of spell (hypothetically speaking). So that gives us 1 remaining wound for the flagellants.

The Chaos Knights throw an enormous amount of dice and getting say 15 hits, but since they can only inflict a single wound their contribution to the combat result is a meagre 1.

Then the flagellants hit back and manage to inflict 2 wounds on the chaos knights.

So if you then calculate the combat result the flagellants have won and the chaos knights should retreat - combat over!

This totally doesn't feel right for me. Which rule am I missing here? How do you guys handle this situation?

Thanks in advance,

Jo

Offline Lex

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1451
  • I wonder...
    • Loc: Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
    • Warmuster . BitzBox
Re: Enemy destroyed but winning combat?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 10:38:34 AM »
The Flaggies Die, the flaggies loose, your guys won, kill in 1ste round 20 cm advance

You can NOT win a combat be being dead !

Offline Haranin

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 125
Re: Enemy destroyed but winning combat?
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 11:40:18 AM »
Reading the rules I agree with Lex.

First rule is more wounds = winner

The rules then go on to state that if you destroy your enemy, you are allowed an advance if its the first "combat"


Offline Jo

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
Re: Enemy destroyed but winning combat?
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 12:25:18 PM »
Thanks for helping out. After rereading the rules on combat result I discovered this nice little paragraph above the inset.

Hooray - a silly situation that has been cleared ou !

Thanks guys,

Jo