Specialist Arms Forum

Warmaster => [WM] Warmaster Fantasy Rules Questions => Topic started by: jchaos79 on April 20, 2009, 06:41:48 PM

Title: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on April 20, 2009, 06:41:48 PM
Hello,

I have some doubts and I will try to explain to you with an example.

two brigades. The attacker brigades is composed by chaos warriors supported by chaos marauders
The defender is composed by night goblins supported by bofa goblins.

Then chaos charge and make a battleline covering all the front. Roll the dice and chaos win making 6 hits and forcing the goblins to retreat 4 cm. Chaos player decide to pursuit.

1) How is the new battle line? all chaos warriors fighting with night goblins central base (a) or chaos warriors advance to enter in combat with bofa goblins too(b) ?

If b is correct. Did it means that central night goblin is flanked and also it is flanking chaos warriors?

(I don't know how to insert images so I'll try to make a scheme)

first round:                       M  M  M               M marauder
                                      W W W                W Chaos warrior
                                      N  N  N                 N night goblin
                                      G  G  G                 G bofa goblin

take casualities and retreat:
                                     M M  M
                                    W W W

                                        N
                                    G  G  G

Possibility a)
                                    M M M

                                    W W W
                                        N
                                    G  G  G

Possibility b)
 
                                    M M M

                                       W
                                     WNW
                                     G GG                           
                                   
2) When the first round of combat chaos marauder are supporting. Can they pursuit because they are part of the combat?

Thanks in advance, I hope I have explain myself
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on April 20, 2009, 07:40:27 PM
Hello,

I have some doubts and I will try to explain to you with an example.

two brigades. The attacker brigades is composed by chaos warriors supported by chaos marauders
The defender is composed by night goblins supported by bofa goblins.
Important distinction:  you have a brigade of Chaos Warriors in front of Chaos Marauders. These are ordered (with one "brigade" order) to charge into a unit of goblins, supported by another unit of goblins.
Quote
Then chaos charge and make a battleline covering all the front.
Assuming that positioning dont "mix it up", your "central stand" of Chaos Warriors centre on the goblins and the others are positioned next to it on both sides. And dont forget ! the poor Gobs get a Stand&Shoot DURING that movement.

After moving the Warriors in position the Marauders (who where behind the warriors) are moved into supporting contact with the warriors again
Quote
Roll the dice and chaos win making 6 hits and forcing the goblins to retreat 4 cm. Chaos player decide to pursuit.
OK, I will take the above at face value, but for the sake of argument I will spell this out. COMBAT RESOLUTION: Chaos (6 + 3 support) = 9  vs Gobs (0 + 1 support  <-- the lost stands cant claim support) = 8. So the goblins need to move back 8 cm

After the goblins have moved, forcing the 2d unit of goblins to "make way" (and dont forget to roll for BOTH units to check for confusion !!) the Chaos Warriors can elect to pursue, which they do.

Quote
NOTE: in this case the defending player has various options.
Remember that you remove ANY stands from the unit in the sequence you want, so you can "guide" the attacker where he does least harm (or when you can get at him).

Also remember that you have the option to "refuse to make way", sacrificing the last stand of gobs, and forcing the Chaos player to "use up" his Advance move.

And remember that the "supporting" unit of gobs must move out of the way in the "shortest" possible distance, which in the above case dont nescecarily mean they need to go back !  the COULD slide to the side.

Quote
1) How is the new battle line? all chaos warriors fighting with night goblins central base (a) or chaos warriors advance to enter in combat with bofa goblins too(b) ?

If b is correct. Did it means that central night goblin is flanked and also it is flanking chaos warriors?

(I don't know how to insert images so I'll try to make a scheme)
Assuming the Goblin player removes the two stands on the flanks and keep the middle one, and makes way with the second unit.


BTW. you can make pictures with any halfway decent drawing program and use [insert image] to make them show here, or alternativly use the [insert code] tags, because code will line up easier !

Quote
first round:                       M  M  M               M marauder
                                      W W W                W Chaos warrior
                                      N  N  N                 N night goblin
                                      G  G  G                 G bofa goblin

take casualities and retreat:
                                     M M  M
                                    W W W

                                        N
                                    G  G  G

Possibility a)
                                    M M M

                                    W W W
                                        N
                                    G  G  G

Possibility b)
 
                                    M M M

                                       W
                                     WNW
                                     G GG                           
                                   
2) When the first round of combat chaos marauder are supporting. Can they pursuit because they are part of the combat?
You are correct to assume that the Marauders can NOT move along on the pursuit!.
The option you would end up with is option 1. Note however that the two stand that you can NOT move DIRECT forward, CAN be moved into frontal contact, but YOU (as attacker/pursuer) can OPT to involve a new unit in the combat, but are not forced into doing that !
Quote
Thanks in advance, I hope I have explain myself
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on April 20, 2009, 08:52:39 PM
Hello!

Thanks for your explanations full of details. They have been really helpful. =)

To sum up the answers:

- The Chaos Warriors decide if they pursue or not.
- If they pursue, you can choose to place them one of these ways:

                                    V  V  V
                                        N
                                    G  G  G


                                        V
                                     > N <         In this case the two Chaos Warrios are flanked by Bofa goblins
                                     G G G

Regarding the the rules you mention (brigade order, stand & shoot, calculation of combat resolution, etc), you are right. I didn't write all the detail  :)

Anyway your comments are very interesting. We are not playing our games with some things as you say, maybe we are not using the rules properly:

Quote
COMBAT RESOLUTION: Chaos (6 + 3 support) = 9  vs Gobs (0 + 1 support  <-- the lost stands cant claim support) = 8. So the goblins need to move back 8 cm

In my opinion, they should benefit from support as they all were in the combat. As they can attack they should have the benefit of being supported. Is that wrong?


Quote
Remember that you remove ANY stands from the unit in the sequence you want, so you can "guide" the attacker where he does least harm (or when you can get at him).

From Warmaster rules page 38: "stands are always removed from the edge of the unit's formation, never from the middle but otherway the player can choose which stands to remove" Has the rule changed?

Quote
After the goblins have moved, forcing the 2d unit of goblins to "make way" (and dont forget to roll for BOTH units to check for confusion !!) ).

The one engaged in combat also checks for confusion?

cheers!
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on April 20, 2009, 09:20:17 PM
Anyway your comments are very interesting. We are not playing our games with some things as you say, maybe we are not using the rules properly:

Quote
COMBAT RESOLUTION: Chaos (6 + 3 support) = 9  vs Gobs (0 + 1 support  <-- the lost stands cant claim support) = 8. So the goblins need to move back 8 cm

In my opinion, they should benefit from support as they all were in the combat. As they can attack they should have the benefit of being supported. Is that wrong?
This is one of the areas of debate for a potential rules change, but as things stand at the moment ONLY stands that remain on table can claim support.
Quote

Quote
Remember that you remove ANY stands from the unit in the sequence you want, so you can "guide" the attacker where he does least harm (or when you can get at him).

From Warmaster rules page 38: "stands are always removed from the edge of the unit's formation, never from the middle but otherway the player can choose which stands to remove" Has the rule changed?
Nope, rule did not change. But read it this way:  you can NOT take away a stand which should lead to breaking the unit's formation. So you could not start taking away the middle stand. However, all actions are done PER STAND. In other words, when you remove the first stand from either side of the unit, you are left with a 2-stand unit, which allows you to take away either stand.

Be assured that it will make very much sense where to take away stands in a lot of situations, and forcing enemies into places it dont want to follow up, or gettin vulnarable units out of LOS for an Advance move.

And dont forget that "killing a unit by refusing to make way" is done AFTER determining CR !!  so your opponent dont get any "bonus" from it.
Quote
Quote
After the goblins have moved, forcing the 2d unit of goblins to "make way" (and dont forget to roll for BOTH units to check for confusion !!) ).

The one engaged in combat also checks for confusion?
Most definitly so !! 

Test for unit FORCING a make way,
test for unit FOCED to make way ....

which means that

Code: [Select]

XXX    |
YYY    |
ZZZ    V


in a situation where X is being pushed back and Y and Z opt to make way, you test

Code: [Select]

XXX    |    1 time for pushing Y
YYY    |    1 time for being pushed by X, and then once more for pushing Y
ZZZ    V    1 time for being pushed by Y

Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on April 20, 2009, 10:25:17 PM
Thanks again Lex :o

all clear now
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Getlord on April 21, 2009, 05:42:09 PM
Let me comment the part which Lex skipped in the last summary.

For the pursuers there are two options only:

Both begins with: "Three stands of Warriors are coming into contact around poor Night gobbos. One stand center-to-center, two remianing front-to-side."

And then:

option 1: They are moved far enough into side to front contact with supporting gobbos.
option 2: They are NOT moved far enough into side to front contact with supporting gobbos.

The pursuing player decides.

As there is NO OBLIGATION to maximize your frontage while pursuing you can align fully with retreater side (2cm) OR less (i.e. 0,5cm). Unfortunately rules untill now allow also 1mm alignment as well. In our gaming group we try to keep 1cm as minimum, but still in this case you have obvious right to CHOOSE whether you're coming into contact with supporters or not.

But there is no possibility to finish pursuing move in the discussed case corner-to-corner. Totally forbidden in this case  ;)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on April 21, 2009, 07:59:46 PM
Hello,

Thanks Getlord, very useful too!

we were playing maximizing the frontage also in pursuit. We are going to use all of this in the next game  ;)

Poor gobbos....  :P
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on April 21, 2009, 08:01:29 PM
N'ah .... think again, poor Chaos Warriors ..... 

Properly placed goblin speedbumps and sacraficing remaining (single) stands can potentialy strand them in a VERY wrong place......
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Getlord on April 22, 2009, 08:35:01 AM
Ya :-)

This is far better to scarifice this (N)ight Goblin stand. "Force" Warriors to advance to another cannon fodder unit and then... :-)

Thanks for the discussion.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Guthwine on April 22, 2009, 06:48:07 PM
But for the chaos warriors it is better to get into contact with the second unit (aka maximize frontage on the gobbos flank) because he would get them without using his advance move, wouldnt he?
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on April 22, 2009, 10:28:22 PM
But for the chaos warriors it is better to get into contact with the second unit (aka maximize frontage on the gobbos flank) because he would get them without using his advance move, wouldnt he?

He could, but he would count as being flanked, and IF he allocates attacks on the second gobo unit then he cant claim pursuit bonusses
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Guthwine on April 22, 2009, 11:17:53 PM
So he would loose his pursuit bonus by being flanked but its not even necessary to allocate attacks against the second unit because he will get the pursuit bonus in the next combat round after the last stand of the first unit has been removed. This of course only will only work well with the chaoswarrior-goblins combination with equal infantry units it would be risky.

Would it be possible to move one of the flanking chaos stands into contact with the second gobbo unit and place the second flanking stand only into contact with the remaining goblin stand? So he would have contact with both units but only one counting as flanked!?
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on April 22, 2009, 11:29:40 PM
So he would loose his pursuit bonus by being flanked but its not even necessary to allocate attacks against the second unit because he will get the pursuit bonus in the next combat round after the last stand of the first unit has been removed. This of course only will only work well with the chaoswarrior-goblins combination with equal infantry units it would be risky.
He still gets pursuitbonus IF allocating attacks on the original unit's stand(s), just not when allocating attacks on a freshly accidental contact.

And yeah, in these circumstances it definitly is worth considering to scacrifice the "lost" stand and force advance, rather then allowing him to roll more units through "accidental" contact

Quote
Would it be possible to move one of the flanking chaos stands into contact with the second gobbo unit and place the second flanking stand only into contact with the remaining goblin stand? So he would have contact with both units but only one counting as flanked!?

:o trying to make the mental picture  ::)

But yeah, AFAICT there is no rule against that
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Guthwine on April 22, 2009, 11:47:26 PM
Ok, thanks for the info, I am pretty sure we always have played it, with maximizing the frontage in pursuit in Austria. Until now of course. :)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Getlord on April 23, 2009, 06:53:51 PM
But for the chaos warriors it is better to get into contact with the second unit (aka maximize frontage on the gobbos flank) because he would get them without using his advance move, wouldnt he?

Of course, but clever Goblin player may refuse to make way, loose the remaining stand and force Warriors to advance instead of pursuing.

______________
Coming into option that one stand only is flanked. This is very risky:

Warriors player may wound goblins maximum 6 times. While three wounds are almost certain (to a lone stand), three remainng to fresh unit are rather disputable: only 3 atacks from flank to front. So lets consider only 1 is scored.

It means 4 wounds to goblins. And Gobbos will strike back with 1+4 attacks i.e ~1 wound and 1 supporting stands. Close to a draw.

Rmember that you cannot inflict more wounds than the remaining stand(s) actually have (or has). So the attacking power of two Warrior stands is very much lost in this case.

Lex - what about stand-and-shoot here? No s-t-s while charged accidentally? I don't remeber at the moment...
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Kretus on April 23, 2009, 09:56:31 PM
I'm afraid  ;D no stand and shoot. You can shoot at charging enemy only.
But let's wait for Lex to be sure.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on April 23, 2009, 10:09:29 PM
Quote
Coming into option that one stand only is flanked. This is very risky:

Warriors player may wound goblins maximum 6 times. While three wounds are almost certain (to a lone stand), three remainng to fresh unit are rather disputable: only 3 atacks from flank to front. So lets consider only 1 is scored.

It means 4 wounds to goblins. And Gobbos will strike back with 1+4 attacks i.e ~1 wound and 1 supporting stands. Close to a draw.

Rmember that you cannot inflict more wounds than the remaining stand(s) actually have (or has). So the attacking power of two Warrior stands is very much lost in this case.
The above is a VERY valid point !!!  EVEN if you are attacking with Chaos Warriors
Quote
Lex - what about stand-and-shoot here? No s-t-s while charged accidentally? I don't remeber at the moment...
No stand&shoot on accidental contact. And of course the gobs moved to make way, so they would loose defensive bonuses if they had those....
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Guthwine on April 23, 2009, 10:49:13 PM
Yeah its true but you still have 3 Attacks of the flanked chaos stand to allocate at the supporting unit, because you should be able to kill the one goblin stand with the 14 attacks of the other 2 chaos stands.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Getlord on April 25, 2009, 11:31:46 AM
That is why it is rather better to allocate 7 (or less if pursuing distance is not so huge) into last goblin stand and another six into new enemy. It is highly probable that you will inflict 6 wounds in the combat instead of ~4-5 and you'll deny the last supporting stand. The gobbos will have then 7 attacks in total which can cause ~2 wounds on your warriors. Seems like won...

This was the idea of my comment.

The calculation will change dramatically if instead of Gobbos you have Black Orcs for example ;)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: wmchaos2000 on May 28, 2009, 03:22:30 PM
Why not:

MMM

  W
WNW
GGG

and allocate 7 attacks on N (because it only has 3 hits left) and the remaining 8 attacks on the new, un-charged unit G?
Doing this by facing the Warriors fronts towards new unit G and therefore negating the flank-bonus for both sides.
In this way the Warriors will kill of both units (which will take one more round of combat) without any problems and still have there Advance left.

Note: If Warriors were to face the flank of goblin unit N with their two flanking stands, they would get one attack less. The goblin N looses one attack yes, but the Warriors looses two by getting their flanks of their flanking stands in base to base with the new unit G. Bad decision.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on May 28, 2009, 03:48:08 PM
if the unit IN pursuit can make frontal contact then it must
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: wmchaos2000 on May 28, 2009, 04:59:55 PM


Quote:
Once stands that can pursue directly
forward have done so, other stands from the
same unit are also moved into edge contact.
This includes stands that would only contact
corner-to-corner by moving directly forward,
as well as stands that would not contact at
all. Where possible, these stands must also
be positioned against the same enemy unit
as stands that have already pursued directly
forward. Pursuing stands must be
positioned so that their front edge contacts
at least part of the edge of a retreating stand
where possible – but note that there is no
obligation to maximise frontage as there is
during a charge.
See Diagrams 42.3 & 42.4

We interpret this: as long as a part of the front edge (front corner) of the second and third stand comes into contact with any part of the retreating unit, it is ok.

Or more directly: Second and third stand can move any way they like as long as they stay in formation and try to contact pursued unit where possible.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Guthwine on May 28, 2009, 05:46:08 PM
Well I would say that corner contact is not edge contact. But it doesnt matter,with chaos warriors thats still enough attacks.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on May 28, 2009, 05:47:26 PM


Quote:
Once stands that can pursue directly
forward have done so, other stands from the
same unit are also moved into edge contact.
This includes stands that would only contact
corner-to-corner by moving directly forward,
as well as stands that would not contact at
all. Where possible, these stands must also
be positioned against the same enemy unit
as stands that have already pursued directly
forward. Pursuing stands must be
positioned so that their front edge contacts
at least part of the edge of a retreating stand
where possible – but note that there is no
obligation to maximise frontage as there is
during a charge.
See Diagrams 42.3 & 42.4

We interpret this: as long as a part of the front edge (front corner) of the second and third stand comes into contact with any part of the retreating unit, it is ok.

Or more directly: Second and third stand can move any way they like as long as they stay in formation and try to contact pursued unit where possible.

Pursuing stands must be positioned so that their front edge contacts at least part of the edge of a retreating stand, also note that moving forward into ONLY corner-to-corner is not OK, as these stand are aslo obliged to make frontal contact, which by you logic they would.

So, where possible, you MUST make frontal contact, but you are not obliged to maximize that contact, allowing you to avoid drawing fresh units into battle.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: wmchaos2000 on May 28, 2009, 10:46:19 PM
Guthwine: is not the corner part of the edge? Actually two edges. This is the way we have been reading it, but we may very well be wrong.  :-[
I agree on the Chaos part, but one should always try to maximise attacks.  ;)

Lex: you wrote "also note that moving forward into ONLY corner-to-corner is not OK".
I have been looking but can not find where it says so. Do you know side and section? Maybe an example.  ???
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on May 28, 2009, 11:29:22 PM
That line came from your own qoute !!!

see example below (sorry for the crappy GFX, I worked with what was at hand)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: wmchaos2000 on May 29, 2009, 12:33:20 PM
No.
No, no.

If you are talking about this:
"This includes stands that would only contact corner-to-corner by moving directly forward"
I believe there is an interpretion err from your side.

That line refers to which stands that are not allowed a move only straight forward, not how they shall move or be positioned finally.
How they move comes in the next part and there is nothing about corner to corner mentioned there.

This is our way of reading it, but we may of course be totally wrong.  :-\

On the other hand I believe that the intention of the text may be in your way to interpret, after have reading it back and forth several times.
But it is more fun if the pursuer can move stands in any way that he/she pleases. The unit is after all on the winning side! ;)

Your GFX was totally clear, I got your point. :)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Getlord on May 29, 2009, 09:34:49 PM
Guys, there is no discussion about this case. Lex is right. IMHO really disputable situation is:

Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on May 29, 2009, 11:32:11 PM
For Gets last example I think that is the ONLY one where corner2corner would be alowable to move in a stand that has no other (legal) way to get in contact, and that would leave the 3th stand out of the combat-after-pursuit

But indeed, that is one of the real quirky situations.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on May 31, 2009, 11:57:03 PM
Hi, today we have a play empire vs empire... anyways during the game it came a situation which cause us little problem, but I would like to show to you:

A halberdiers unit brigaded to knights unit (red one) attack to a brigade of two halberdiers units (A and B blues), one of them supporting the other. (see scheme)

The blue brigade have luck and win because the support. No stands are eliminated. My question is:

Can the A-blue halberdier pursuit?

I assume B-blue is only supporting, so they can no pursuit. A-blue is legal to pursuit to  red-infantry but not to red-cavalery. if A-blue pursuit to red-infantry they end corner to corner in contact with red-cavalary.

We resolve it as A-blue could pursuit. Did we do right?

thanks in advance
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Bel on June 01, 2009, 03:33:16 AM
A halberdiers unit brigaded to knights unit (red one) attack to a brigade of two halberdiers units (A and B blues), one of them supporting the other. (see scheme)

The charge shown above is impossible for knights bkz the charge with corner-to-corner contact only is not allowed.
If supposing the charge was legal (the first picture must be a bit different), then the pursuit by A-blue unit is legal too - A-unit may pursuit red halberdiers (but not knights formally) and may move into accidental contact with knights (in this case I think pursuit bonuses will apply against knights too bkz they flee from the same engagement - LRB, p.48, top of right column).
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on June 01, 2009, 08:42:57 AM
Ok, thanks bel,

I did not take photos but I try to reconstruct mentally the turn secuence and found out what we did worng
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on June 01, 2009, 09:03:04 AM
Ok, I tried to simplify in the las example to explain me easier and I ask for a forbiden situation. The real situation was the scheme below.

Blue wins and pursuit. We resolve the pursuit as multiple combat,

Now all clear, thanks bel,

Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Bel on June 01, 2009, 09:43:38 AM
I find this situation quite funny bkz here cavalry unit may be pursued by infantry (actually) and this looks absolutely  legal.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on June 01, 2009, 10:59:48 AM
In those cases where troops can NOT be pursued by other troops, but they still end up in accidental contact (like the example) their pursueing troops COULD attack the contact nor-pursuable unit, but they will NOT get any of the pursuit bonus !

In the above example the Red cavalry unit is linking this seperate combats and you would fight them as one engagement
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Bel on June 01, 2009, 11:41:25 AM
so u contend 'nor-pursuability'  has a total priority? (I was confused a bit with a situation below and rules text)

Pursuers and unengaged enemy
When moving pursuers it is possible for stands to come into contact with unengaged enemy units. It is also possible for pursuers to come into contact with other enemy units retreating from the same combat, but which the pursuers were not touching in the previous round. In some cases this may be unavoidable – in others it will depend on the order in which pursuers are moved and how the player chooses to position pursuing stands. Any units contacted in this way are automatically drawn into the combat in the following round.
Pursuit bonuses only apply against retreating units if they fought in the same combat engagement as the pursuer. It does not matter whether a pursuer actually fought the retreating unit in the previous combat round – only that the unit retreated from the same engagement. No pursuit or charge bonuses apply against newly engaged units.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: wmchaos2000 on June 01, 2009, 11:35:00 PM
Guys, there is no discussion about this case. Lex is right.

Alright.
So, why is it ok to charge corner to corner (second and third stand) but not when pursuing? To me this is very odd.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Getlord on June 02, 2009, 07:42:49 AM
Because in one situation (charge) you are obliged to form a line whenever possible and in the second case you can and must in fact to envelope wherever possible (but you don't have to maximize frontage as explained earlier).

Obligation to forming a line during a charge (if enough movement) is often omitted by Warmaster players (not only beginners) ;)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on June 02, 2009, 07:48:00 AM
Alright.
So, why is it ok to charge corner to corner (second and third stand) but not when pursuing? To me this is very odd.

This was discussed with Rick WAYYYYYYYY back; the mechanism as it stands at the moment reflects the difference between the "ordered" charge, where troops would come in line-abreast for maximum impact (hence also the obligation to maximize frontage where and when possible). Of course in real life those guys fighting "corner-2-corner" would be in on the side of the unit, but for the rules this is simulated by them being allowd to fight, even when they made "no" real contact. The additional effect from the applied rule is that a victorious unit that wipes out its enemy has a 180 degreed LOS to its front to establish an ADVANCE move.

On the other hand there is the far more messy pursuit, when the enemy starts to fall back, troops will rush forward to maintain contact, and second or third liners will stream around those already engaged which is represented by the pursuit rules in allowing the winner to get more people into the fray (lapping around), and diminishing the fighting effectivness of the retreating unit that way. Note also that this does create a certain vulnerability for the pursuing unit !!  which will need to pull out and reform, or be hit in flanks o rear in next turns combat.

So although it may not always be intuitive, there is an underlying principle, which I hope you now understand
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: wmchaos2000 on June 02, 2009, 11:20:56 AM
Aha! I see now.
Thank you for the explanation of the background, Lex.
Goes for you to, Getlord.
 :)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: mspaetauf on June 04, 2009, 07:07:17 PM
HI!

Hmm well i did not read it all, but i have to kind of disagree!

According to the "rules-update-pdf" by GW, corner-to-corner contact is only prohibited, if it is the only type of contact a pursuing unit can establish. So basically the rules are the same as they are for moving chargers.

So corner-to-corner is ok if at least one base of the unit has front-edge contact.

See also pdf, page 12.

regards,
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Lex on June 04, 2009, 10:11:27 PM

Hmm well i did not read it all, but i have to kind of disagree!

According to the "rules-update-pdf" by GW, corner-to-corner contact is only prohibited, if it is the only type of contact a pursuing unit can establish. So basically the rules are the same as they are for moving chargers.


Dont you mean that C2C is only NOT prohibited when it is the ONLY kind of contact a stand can make after forward puruit is made and non-forward stands are moved.....

and no, the rules are definitly NOT the same as for moving chargers..... 

- first stand of chargers MUST line up center-2-center; in pursuit the move is direct forward for ALL units that so make front edge contact
- extra stands of chargers MUST form up on the frontage of the first stand, and where possible (read, when they have enough distance) expand frontage to additional units; in pursuit stands that dont have direct forward target must move shortest distance in contact with THEIR front edge to any edge of retreating stands, with no obligation to maximize frontage
- pursuing stands that did NOT move direct forward, and that can NOT move into front edge contact, but CAN move into C2C are then allowed to do so ...
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on July 18, 2009, 09:30:51 AM
Hi,

yesterday we have a high elves vs chaos conflict, and we have a situation that I would like to ask you if we resolve it well.

Elf spear 1 and eagles (figure 1) just eliminate a marauder unit and they are allow to advance. That is a new charge. Both of them can see the chaos warriors and both of them can not flank them because they are over the 45º lateral sector.

I suppose they can charge corner to corner (figure 2). Is it right?

Yesterday when we resolve the charge I rememeber the following quote from Bel and makes me feel that we were making something wrong.


The charge shown above is impossible for knights bkz the charge with corner-to-corner contact only is not allowed.


Thanks in advance
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Guthwine on July 18, 2009, 01:48:49 PM
The corner to corner charge is wrong, but either the eagles or elf spear 1 can flank them even if they are not in the 45° because the chaos warriors front is fully covered.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on July 18, 2009, 02:24:53 PM
Thanks Guthwine,

I understood the reason, and now it is completly clear the corner to corner situations for me.

regards
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Bel on July 18, 2009, 03:01:30 PM
I prefer classic charging rules - where both possible charges may be made to the flank (except the 1st charger will block the way for the 2nd)
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: jchaos79 on July 19, 2009, 09:37:25 AM
Bel, what you say is the same as Guthwine (I think), so... Classic rules?

I prefer classic charging rules - where both possible charges may be made to the flank (except the 1st charger will block the way for the 2nd)

The corner to corner charge is wrong, but either the eagles or elf spear 1 can flank them even if they are not in the 45° because the chaos warriors front is fully covered.
Title: Re: charge and pursuit
Post by: Bel on July 19, 2009, 04:30:04 PM
Quote
Elf spear 1 and eagles (figure 1) just eliminate a marauder unit and they are allow to advance. That is a new charge. Both of them can see the chaos warriors and both of them can not flank them because they are over the 45º lateral sector.


This means you play with so called alternative charging rules (a version by Rick Priestley that he suggested for easy way to get in WRM - with flank zones etc) and Guthwine's answer is absolutely correct.

And I'm mistaken a bit having mixed the front and the rear of Eagles unit.

By the initial (and LRB) rules and judging the photo the unit of Elf spear 1 may legally charge to the flank of chaos warriors regardless of sectors where Elf Spears 1 unit really is - this depends of the shortest line between units and the frontage's balance of the charging unit... You may re-read the p.35 of LRB, 3d paragraph... The Eagles in this case are unable to charge - they must charge the front of chaos warriors that is inaccessible.